Goodbye Consumating.com

Lexipants

One of my, if not THE, favorite website(s), Consumating.com, died on Friday, March 14, 2008. 

In sum, Consumating.com began as a dating site for 20-somethings, but turned into a quirky social networking site, much like Myspace or Facebook.  It was created by the  Internet Rockstar himself, Ben Brown, who sold it to CNET for lots o’ cash.  CNET abandoned Consumating, leaving 1 person to update it weekly.  Instead of trying to revive the site with a small, connected group of diehard, loyal users, it decided to pull the plug. 

Consumating to me…. meant alot.  Some people are disgruntled at CNET because the site was a little piece of the internet hardly anyone knew about, but for those who did, it became a real community.  I talked to and met several people I never would have talked to on the street.  Jason, Oz, and Sheldon… here’s to you.

But my the biggest life changer:  Consumating.com…

View original post 261 more words

